The Selca, Poljane Sora and Sora rivers shaped the landscape
and the people who live by them. There are numerous bridges which stand on its
banks, connecting people and places.
The wooden footbridge with a
shrine, named after the ancient appearances of the devil, connects the
settlement of Puštal with Škofja Loka. With its surroundings, the Devil's
Bridge, under which the Poljane Sora river froths, is one of the most
picturesque locations in Škofja Loka. From the bridge there is a great view of
the Church of the Holy Cross on Hribec, which dates from the 18th century. A
path leads up to the church with the 12 Stations of the Cross.
This bridge over the Selca Sora river, built in the mid-14th
century from carved stone in a semi-circular shape, is the only one of its kind
in central Europe. In 1888 it was renovated and equipped with iron railings. In
the centre there is a statue of St. John of Nepomuk, with the Škofja Loka
coat-of-arms on the plinth. In the Middle Ages the Selca Gate with a guard
tower stood beside the bridge.
This elegantly-shaped stone bridge with a chapel, built in
1840, is located in Železniki.