Rapallo border

The Treaty of Rapallo was signed on the 12th November 1920 in the Italian town of Rapallo. The treaty required the handover of a third of the territory of Slovenia, which formerly belonged to Yugoslavia, to Italy, dramatically changing life in Sovodenj and its surroundings. Neighbours, relatives and friends immediately became citizens of two kingdoms – the Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats and Slovenes (later the Kingdom of Yugoslavia) and the Kingdom of Italy.


The Border

The entire Rapallo Border, which ran from Peča, above the village of Rateče, over Triglav to Rijeka, was 244km in length and was divided into 70 sections. At the start of each section a main boundary stone stood – cippo principale - whilst smaller boundary stones were placed between the main ones. In the area of this theme path there are five main boundary stones numbered from 35 - 39.

Along the border there were a number of fortifications which protected the border and hinterlands – after the year 1932 on the Italian side the so-called' Alpine Wall', after 1939 on the Yugoslav side the so-called Rupnik Line.

The Path along the Rapallo Border

You can choose how much of the path you wish to walk, depending upon your ability and how much time you have available. The entire path from Žiri to 'Vrhovec' in Podlanišče is 46km in length (9-10 hours). There are also several shorter routes, some of which are circular. The circular path from Žiri to Mrzli vrh and back is 13km in length (4 hours). Those wishing to set off from Sovodenj can walk to Mrzli vrh, to boundary stone No.38 (14km, 4 hours both way) or, in the opposite direction, to boundary stone No. 36 in Nova Oselica (6km, 2 hours round trip). This route can also be extended to boundary stone No.35 which stands at 'Pr'Vrhovc' in Podlanišče (14km, 4.5hours, returning to the main road for Cerkno-Sovodenj in Podlanišče). 

Pohod ob rapalski meji 2017-cut.jpg